When A Nation Takes A Knee


There are so many people who are jealous of Colin Kaepernick. Oh they won’t admit it but they are mad that the stupid protest ideas and internet trolling they do hasn’t garnered them 1 millionth of the attention Colin’s protest actions have. I admit that I am jealous. I wish I had thought of it and had been famous enough to have had it matter if I did it. 

Kaepernick Knee

Today even though I may be a little late to the party. I mean this happened like a week ago. That’s like 6 months in internet time. So I spent a few moments posing for pictures and writing a poem. Ya that’s right I wrote a poem! And it doesn’t mean I’m not a man and it doesn’t mean I’m struggling with my identity. It simply provides me a way to get the angry wigglies out of the dark parts of my twisted soul when they reach out from the hell in my heart to strangle my good brain from time to time. 

So I put down my Black Lives Matter protest/vigil board to stand (or kneel) with Colin in solidarity. I hope you will respect my right to do this and consider my poem. Did I mention it is SLAM poetry? I don’t know if it’s as good as the many I have seen preformed on youtube but I tried. Don’t know what SLAM poetry is? It basically a street expression presented with energy, anger, excitement, passion and flow (if your good) So if you want check out some SLAM poetry before you read on then return and read on or rap it out loud or SLAM it out in the privacy of your living room like I did for my wife even though she tried to leave the room 3 times before I was done. I am a lot to put up with after all. So I don’t blame her.

Take a knee1

A word of warning to my paler skinned readers. This is hard. Like it’s hard for me to admit I was a racist, But I have been in recovery for decades and I am making progress. You may not be there yet so I welcome your ignorant, hateful and angry comments. And thank you for them.. I am sure they will inspire many more posts, photos and poems like the content provided here. PEACE. 

The Day When A Nation Takes A Knee

Today I put down my BLM sign so I can take a knee

In the home of the brave and the land of the free

I am with Colin and he is with me

Together now one in solidarity

What this should tell you is I am a patriot

Who loves his country but unjust killing can’t forget

Now I declare with one voice among many

Not enough people will take action with me

Too hard for you to listen and understand

About what it is like to be a black man

So if you are blessed today and fat, dumb and happy

Too busy to listen to our friend Colin ‘Kappy”

The country I love is supposed to have justice

But if it’s only for the majority or Just Us.

Then it’s time for everyone to stand up and scream

This is not part of the American Dream

We need everyone to have life, liberty and happiness

If we don’t then someone is suffering and oppressed

This is my country and it’s under attack

By a white power majority out to get blacks

So you know what just screw it, I throw up my hands

Someone stand for the truth, make your demands

To our leaders and neighbors, family and friends

Or we may just find out our grand old country ends

When the music plays and you have a choice

To stand or sit know that both have a voice

So if you’re still complaining about a black man’s actions

Know that throughout history blacks can’t get no satisfactions

If today you are shouting at your TV and looking dumb

Maybe it’s time for you to “go back where you came from!”

Leave a Reply

